Connect with us


Why Nigeria lost IMO seat, by stakeholders



Stakeholders in the maritime industry have attributed failure by Nigeria to be re-elected into Category ‘C’ of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) to shoddy preparation.
A London-based Nigerian maritime analyst, Donald Adebola, attributed Nigeria’s loss to inexperience and carelessness by the handlers of the country’s re-election bid.
Also, a former Director General of agency, Dr. Ferdinand Agu, said that politicians didn’t have a clear idea of what the maritime sector is all about.
He explained that it was wrong to contract maritime safety to a private company when the Nigerian Navy was there.
Forty countries were elected into the IMO Council in three categories for the 2017/2018 biennial.
The election, which took place in London, had Nigeria as one of the countries seeking re-election by scoring 98 points in an election that saw five African countries of Morocco, Egypt, South Africa, Kenya and Liberia joining the group at the expense of Nigeria.
Category C, which has 20 countries, consists of those with special interests in maritime transport or navigation and whose election to the Council will ensure the representation of all major geographic areas of the world, according to IMO.
A breakdown of the votes showed that Morocco scored 134 votes; Egypt, 133; South Africa, 121; Kenya, 120 and Liberia, 116.
It was gathered that Singapore came tops with 142 votes to beat 20 countries.
Category C is the executive organ of the IMO that takes decisions in the absence of the Assembly and coordinates all activities of the organs of the organisation.
It has 20-member countries with special interest in maritime transport or navigation.
The successful countries are China, Greece, Italy, Japan, Norway, Panama, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, United Kingdom and United States in Category A.
Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and United Arab Emirates were elected in Category B while Bahamas, Belgium, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Liberia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand and Turkey were elected in Category C.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Take advantage of our impressive online traffic; advertise your brands and products on this site. Call For Advert Placement and Enquiries, Call: Mobile Phone:+234 803 304 2915 Online Editor: Michael Abimboye Mobile Phone: 0813 699 6757 Email: Copyright © 2018 NewTelegraph Newspaper.

%d bloggers like this: