Connect with us

Show Biz

Spectacles of AMVCAs 2018 hold Africa spellbound



Spectacles of AMVCAs 2018 hold Africa spellbound

The widely anticipated 2018 edition of Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCAs) held with much fanfare at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos last Saturday, with attendant glitz and glam. As expected, the crème de la crème of the African film, TV and entertainment circles turned out on the famous AMVCA red carpet for the 6th edition and the show, which was hosted by the returning duo of notable Nigerian media personality, IK Osakioduwa and the delectable South African media personality, Minnie Dlamini-Jones, started with an electrifying performance by the critically acclaimed Niger-Delta dance troupe, Seki. Apart from Seki, there were many other remarkable performances at the unforgettable night in Lagos.

These include renditions by famous singer and producer, Cobhams Asuquo and Nigerian opera singer, Omo Bello, who rendered lifting tunes to the audience while performing with her orchestra. Nigerian rapper, Falz, who has continued his streak of doing well in music yet carting away awards for his involvement in the movie sector, won the ‘Best Supporting Actor in a Drama’ award, also thrilled the audience. As the audience, made up of thousands in the Expo Hall of Eko Hotel and Suites and millions watching around Africa on GOtv and DStv, watched on, the big winners of the night include Adjetey Anang and Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde for ‘Best Actor in a Drama/Movie’ and ‘Best Actress in a Drama/ Movie’ respectively while Jade Osiberu won in the ‘Best Director’ category for the acclaimed movie, Isoken.

Being a pan African affair, the crowning of the event was the announcement of Phoebe Ruguru’s classy 18 Hours as the Best Overall Movie; while another highlight of the night was the presentation of the Industry Merit award to renowned Nigerian cinematographer, Tunde Kelani.

The award for Kelani, a movie icon with decades under his belt yet visibly accessible to mentor many in the Nigerian movie arena, was obviously a decision well received by the audience as evidenced by a prolonged standing ovation for the producer of legendary productions like Oleku, Arugba, Maami among many others. In the same vein, the Trailblazer Award, which came with a brand new car, was presented to the runner-up of the 2017 edition of Big Brother Naija, Bisola Aiyeola, in recognition of her growing impact in the African film and TV space.

Below is the full list of winners at the trending #AMVCAs2018

Best Documentary

The Flesh Business – Enis Wanjohi Maina

Best Television Series

This Is It – Dolapo Adeleke (Lowla Dee)

Best Cinematographer Movie or TV Series

Okafor’s Law – Yinka Edward

Best Movie East Africa

18 Hours – Phoebe Ruguru

Best Writer (Movie/TV Series)

Alter Ego – Patrick Nnamani, Koye o, Moses Inwang

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series – Yoruba

Etiko Onigedu – Femi Adebayo

Best Lighting Designer (Movie or TV Series

Tatu – Akpe Ododoru, Tunde Akinniyi

Best Picture Editor Movie/TV Series

18 Hours – Mark Maina

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series – Igbo

Bound – Lilian afegbai

Best Sound Editor Movie or TV Series

Tatu – Kolade Morakinyo, Pius Fatoke

Best Soundtrack Movie or TV Series

Tatu – Evelle

Best Costume Designer Movie or TV Series

The Bridge – Ngozi Obasi, James Bessinone

Best Indigenous Language Movie or Tv Series – Hausa

Mansoor – Ali Nuhu

Best Make Up Artist Movie or TV Series

Tatu – Thelma Ozy Smith, Hakeem Effect Onilogbo

Best Art Director Movie or TV Series

Lotanna – Tunji Afolayan

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series – Swahili

Supa Modo – Sarika Hemi Lakhani

Best Movie Southern Africa

The Road To Sunrise – Shemu joyah

Best Director Movie

Isoken – Jade Osiberu

Best Movie West Africa

Isoken – Jade Osiberu

Best Overall Movie

18 Hours – Phoebe Ruguru

Best Actor In A Comedy (Movie/TV Series)

A million Baby – Odunlade adekola

Best Actor In A Drama (Movie/TV Series)

Keteke – Adjetey Anang

Best Actress In A Comedy (Movie/TV Series)

Alter Ego – Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde

Best Supporting Actor In A Drama (Movie/TV Series)

New Money – Falz

Best Supporting Actress In A Drama (Movie/TV Series)

Isoken – Lydia forson

Best Short Film or Online Video

Penance – Michael ‘Ama Psalmist’ Akinrogunde

Industry Merit Award

Tunde Kelani

Trail Blazer Award

Bisola Aiyeola

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Take advantage of our impressive online traffic; advertise your brands and products on this site. Call For Advert Placement and Enquiries, Call: Mobile Phone:+234 803 304 2915 Online Editor: Michael Abimboye Mobile Phone: 0813 699 6757 Email: Copyright © 2018 NewTelegraph Newspaper.

%d bloggers like this: