Connect with us


More Reps set to dump APC, PDP this week



More Reps set to dump APC, PDP this week

Philip Nyam

Barring any last minute changes, more members of the House of Representatives would in the next few weeks be defecting from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and leading opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), to other political parties.
New Telegraph’s investigation reveal that majority of the lawmakers who may be dumping the major political parties are the aggrieved members who were denied tickets to seek re-election in 2019.
At least, over half of members of the House lost their bids to secure their parties tickets to re-contest in 2019.
An APC lawmaker from the South-West told our correspondent at the weekend that many of them would seek new platforms to return to the House in 2019.
“In the days ahead, many of us will have to take our destinies in our hands because the impunity being displayed by the leadership of our party is unprecedented. And those of us who are in APC, everybody has seen what the national chairman has done to the party.
“I can confidently tell you that many honourable members who were schemed out of the 2019 contest will be seeking to contest on new platforms; meaning there will be more defections from next week onward.”
The lawmaker explained that the defections will not be restricted to the ruling APC.
According to him, “it is not only APC. PDP too has not learnt its lessons and, therefore, is going to lose many members.
“We want to teach them (party leaders) a lesson of their life. If they feel they can deny us ticket unjustly and give it to cronies, we can move over to where we will be respected.
“Many of the new parties are begging us to come and take tickets and the good thing about the 2019 elections is that everybody will campaign and win elections on his credibility and popularity. There will be nothing like change again.”
It will be recalled that only last week, three members of the lower chamber changed party platform. While two members dumped the ruling APC for PDP, one member left PDP for Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).
Shortly before they went on the annual recess in July, 37 members of the House had dumped APC for PDP and the Social Democratic Party (SDP).
Speaker Yakubu Dogara also defected from APC to PDP during the recess, even though he is yet to formally inform his colleagues on the floor.
Some of the lawmakers that lost out in the primaries include Abiodun Akinlade (APC, Ogun), Nnenna Ukeje (PDP, Abia), Dickson Tarkighir (PDP, Benue), Hassan Saleh (PDP, Benue), Sunday Karimi (PDP, Kogi), Emmanuel Udende (PDP, Benue) and Emeka Ujam (PDP, Enugu).
Others are Bukar Goni Lawan (APC, Yobe), Mohammed Sani Zoro (PDP, Jigawa), Linus Okorie (PDP, Ebonyi), Mohammed Zakari (PDP, Kwara), Abubakar Chika Adamu (APC, Niger), Abdullahi Kontagora (APC, Niger), Prestige Ossy (APGA, Abia), Saliu Adamu (APC, Niger), Aliyu Ahman Pategi (PDP, Kwara) and Joan Onyeamachi Mrakpor (PDP, Delta).
New Telegraph’s investigation further revealed that some of these lawmakers and other aggrieved members of the House may be changing their political parties “very soon.”
The lawmakers, our correspondent gathered, are also becoming restive because the date given by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for political parties to submit the list of candidates for the presidential and National Assembly elections will elapse at the end of this month.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Take advantage of our impressive online traffic; advertise your brands and products on this site. Call For Advert Placement and Enquiries, Call: Mobile Phone:+234 803 304 2915 Online Editor: Michael Abimboye Mobile Phone: 0813 699 6757 Email: Copyright © 2018 NewTelegraph Newspaper.

%d bloggers like this: