Connect with us


BREAKING: Ondo Speaker, deputy impeached



BREAKING: Ondo Speaker, deputy  impeached

The Speaker and the deputy speaker of the Ondo State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Bamidele Oleyologun and Hon. Iroju Ogundeji has been impeached by lawmakers this morning.

Both officers were removed by 18 out of the 26 members of the Assembly for reasons of gross misconduct, the arrogance of power, ineptitude and abuse of office.

According to the News Agency of Nigeria, lawmaker, Sunday Olajide (APC-Akure Constituency 2), moved the motion for the impeachment; while another lawmaker, Oluyede Feyide (APC-Ose Constituency) seconded the motion.

After the impeachment of the two officers, the lawmakers elected Mr. Olamide George (APC-Akure North Constituency) as the new Speaker, while lawmakers Abimbola Fajolu (APC-Ile Oluji/Oke Igbo Constituency) emerged as the Deputy Speaker.

The changes were effected in a rowdy plenary session where Jumoke Akindele (APC-Okitipupa Constituency 2) was picked as the Acting Speaker, prior to the emergence of the new leadership.

In his inaugural speech, the new Speaker, Olumide George, said that the impeachment of the two leaders was aimed at correcting certain lapses in House, including misconduct, and not a witch-hunting of anyone.

NAN also reports that 18 lawmakers, out of the 26 members of the House, carried out the impeachment; while policemen were stationed around the premises to forestall any breakdown of law and order.


Continue Reading


  1. Like

    November 9, 2018 at 1:59 pm

    Like!! Really appreciate you sharing this blog post.Really thank you! Keep writing.

  2. Pingback: BREAKING: Ondo Speaker, deputy Speaker, impeached — Voiceheadlines

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Take advantage of our impressive online traffic; advertise your brands and products on this site. Call For Advert Placement and Enquiries, Call: Mobile Phone:+234 803 304 2915 Online Editor: Michael Abimboye Mobile Phone: 0813 699 6757 Email: Copyright © 2018 NewTelegraph Newspaper.

%d bloggers like this: