Connect with us



LIVE VIDEO: National assembly members elect their leaders



LIVE VIDEO: National assembly members elect their leaders

Welcome to our coverage of the inauguration of the 9th assembly.

The race for the Senate President is a two-horse race between Senator Ahmad Lawan who is the APC preferred candidate and Senator Mohammed Ali Ndume also of the APC but heavily backed by the opposition party, PDP.

For Deputy Senate President, only one candidate, Ovie Omo-Agege, representing Delta Central seems to be in the race. Mr Omo-Agege was on Sunday endorsed by the APC for the position forcing other contestants to shelve their ambitions.

Video credit: Channels TV

BREAKING: Senator Ahmad Lawan elected Senate President

Senator Ahmad Lawan has been elected president of the Senate.

Mr Lawam who represents Yobe north senatorial district defeated Senator Ali Ndume who polled 28 votes.

Lawan polled 79 votes to emerge victorious.

Senator Omo Agege Emerges Senate Deputy President

Ovie Omo-Agege, the lawmaker representing Delta central, has been elected deputy president of the Senate.

He secured 68 of the 107 votes in the election to defeat Ike Ekweremadu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).​

Ekwereamadu polled 39 votes


JUST IN: Okorocha storms out of National Assembly

Rochas Okorocha, former governor of Imo state, has been prevented from participating in the inauguration of the 9th national assembly.

The ex-governor had arrived at the national assembly on Tuesday morning and headed straight to the office of Sani Omolori, clerk of the national assembly.

After some minutes at Omolori’s office, he walked out of the national assembly.


Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State leads APC governors to the Senate chamber. Umar Ganduje of Kano State and other governors accompany him.


Uproar in Senate, as CNA uses 2015 Senate Standing Orders for election

There was an uproar in the Senate, as the Clerk to the National Assembly (CNA), Mr Mohammed Sani-Omolori, declared the first session of the 9th Senate open, to elect the presiding officers.

The presiding officers to be elected are the President of the Senate and the Deputy President of the Senate.

Trouble started when the CNA announced that the elections would be held in accordance with the provisions of the rules of the Senate, contained in its Standing Orders 2015 (as amended).

An Abuja High Court had on Monday, issued an injunction, restraining the Clerk to the National Assembly from using the 2015 Standing Orders of the Senate. It further mandated the CNA to use the 2011 Standing Orders to conduct the election of the presiding officers.

However, the CNA, in responding to the agitations and questions being raised obviously by supporters of Ahmad Lawan, making reference to the court decision, said that he had not been served with the court injunction.

When the protesters persisted, Sani-Omolori reminded them that the only business of the day was to conduct the election in line with the provisions of the constitution, and the rules of the Senate.

He said that there was no provision for entertainment of questions, neither was there room for raising of point of order but however, noted that he only decided to honour them as by responding to their inquest into whether or not he received the said court injunction.

“You have no voice till after the election”, Clerk bluntly told the senators-elect.

He then mandated the Clerk of the Senate, Nelson Oniwoh to take the roll call, which he did.

At the end of the count, the CNA announced that 107 Senators out of 109 were present in the chamber. Results of two senatorial seats of Imo East and Imo North are still pending.

Thereafter, the CNA called for nominations of candidates for the office of the President of the Senate. Senator Yahaya Abdullahi (APC, Kebbi North) and seconded by Senator Solomon Adeola (APC, Lagos West).

Lawan was given time to address his colleagues, where he assured again, to run an inclusive administration and also ensure harmony between the Executive and the Legislature.

After his speech, Ndume was then nominated by a PDP senator from Adamawa and seconded by another one from Rivers State.

He was allowed time and he briefly addressed his colleagues, promising to make the office of the President of the Senate less attractive and also make the Senate be an institution of equal members, with the presiding officers applying the provisions of the law to lead.

Continue Reading


  1. redline v3.0

    June 18, 2019 at 8:25 pm

    Hi would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a fair price? Kudos, I appreciate it!

  2. Pingback: LIVE VIDEO: National assembly members elect their leaders - Instanextpost

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Take advantage of our impressive online traffic; advertise your brands and products on this site. Call For Advert Placement and Enquiries, Call: Mobile Phone:+234 803 304 2915 Online Editor: Michael Abimboye Mobile Phone: 0813 699 6757 Email: Copyright © 2018 NewTelegraph Newspaper.

%d bloggers like this: