Aiteo/NFF Awards: Legends kick as Moses, Oshoala, others win


Despite their presence at the inaugural Aiteo/Nigeria Football Federation awards in Lagos on Monday, some of the ex-internationals have expressed their disappointment on the way they were treated on the night.

“I am happy for the recognition given to some of us tonight,” one of them spoke with our correspondent on condition of anonymity.


“But so unfortunate that some were called to the podium and others did not even get to wave to the crowd. People want to see these legends and it was interesting during lunch at the Eko Hotel, when all of us came out together, the people at the hotel were happy to relate with the legends.


Meanwhile, Chelsea wing-back Victor Moses emerged as the winner of the maiden edition of the awards


Moses won the crown ahead of his Super Eagles’ teammate Wilfred Ndidi and Lobi Stars forward Anthony Okpotu.


Reigning African Women’s Player of the Year Asisat Oshoala won the women’s version.


Enyimba left-back Ikouwem Udoh beat Nura Mohammed and Stephen Odey to the Young Player of the Year for men and Falconets striker Rasheedat Ajibade beat Anam Imo and Gift Monday to win the Young Player of the Year for women.


Former Falcons star Ann Chiejine won the Women’s Coach of the Year beating Edwin Okon and Whyte Ogbonna, while Plateau United coach Kennedy Boboye won the Men’s Coach of the Year award ahead of Abdu Maikaba of Akwa United and MFM’s Fidelis Ilechukwu.


MFM’s Sikiru Olatunbosun won the Goal of the Year while Remo Stars won the Fair Play award. The Development award was given to Channels Sports for their contribution to the development of the game at the grassroots. The Platinum award was presented to FIFA President Gianni Infantino.


The Nigerian Legends 11 is made up of Chiejine, Felix Owolabi, Austin Eguavoen, Christian Chukwu, Uche Okechukwu, Nwankwo Kanu, Austin Okocha, Segun Odegbami, Adokiye Amiesimaka, Thompson Usiyen and Mercy Akide-Udoh.

Related posts

Leave a Reply