COVID-19: PTF declares FCT hot spot of community spread

The Presidential Task Force on coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic has declared the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja, as one of the red spots of community spread of the disease in the country. Chairman of the PTF and Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha, said this yesterday while receiving donations of Personal Protective Equipments (PPEs) worth N10 million from Rotary District 9125, led by its Governor, Victor Onukhugwa. Represented by the Permanent Secretary (General Services Office), Olusegun Adekunle, the SGF while enlisting the help of Rotary International in taking the COVID- 19 awareness campaign to the communities, said 20 local government areas currently contributes 60 per cent of the cases in the country.

The PTF had said as at June 1, only Cross River State had not recorded a confirmed COVID-19 case, while the report put the Cases Fatality Rate (CFR) at 3% As at June 1, the 20 councils including Mainland, Abuja Municipal, Mushin, Eti-Osa, Tarauni, Katsina, Alimosho, Maiduguri, Kosofe and Dutse. Others are Ikeja, Nassarawa, Oshodi/Isolo, Apapa, Amuwo Odofin, Oredo, Bauchi, Lagos Island, Surulere and Ado Odo/Ota, were declared as red spots. Mustapha lamented the level of compliance describing it as abysmal, saying, “and that is why there is community spreading. We want to sensitize Nigerians on the dangers of this.

%d bloggers like this: