More defections as Imo Speaker, seven other lawmakers dump PDP for APC

The Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Dr. Collins Chiji on Tuesday joined the growing list of defectors to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).
The Speaker defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the APC.
Chiji, who made the announcement during the plenary session of the House, also announced the defection of seven other lawmakers from the PDP to the APC.
The lawmakers are Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West), Chigozie Nwaneri (Oru East), Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West), Kennedy Ibeh (Obowo), Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru), Michael Njoku (Ihitte Uboma) and Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise).
This brings the total number of APC lawmakers from 10 to 18, with the defection of nine lawmakers on Tuesday, January 21, 2019.
Consequently, with the recent defections, the PDP has become a minority party in the Assembly and left with just eight members in the state Parliament

Related posts

Leave a Reply