News Top Stories

New Telegraph unveils 2021 award winners

Daily Telegraph P u b l i s h i n g C o m p a n y L i m i t e d , publishers of the New Telegraph newspapers, in keeping with its commitment to rewarding individuals and businesses in Nigeria that have distinguished themselves by their remarkable contributions to the development of the country in both the public and private space, has unveiled recipients of its annual awards for 2021.


New Telegraph engages in this event, which has become a highly anticipated yearly ritual, in the firm belief that such reward system has the twin effect of galvanizing and inspiring awardees towards greater excellence, while also helping to incentivize others to aspire to such distinction.


Topping the bill in the New Telegraph Awards for 2021 slated for November 19, at the Balmoral Event Center Federal Palace Hotel, Lagos, is Governor of Central Bank, Mr. Godwin Emefiele, who wins the Man of the Year award.


President of the Senate, Senator Ahmed Lawan, will receive the coveted honour of a Lifetime Achievement award in Politics. Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu, and Abia State Governor, Mr. Okezie Ikpeazu, will go home with Governor of the Year awards on Good Governance and SME Development, respectively. Borno State Governor, Prof Babagana Zulum, wins Governor of the Year award in Education and Housing while Benue State Governor, Mr. Samuel Ortom, clinches the Governor of the Year award in Courage in Leadership.


The Political Icon of the Year goes to the Governor of Ekiti State and Chairman of the Nigerian Governors Forum, Dr Kayode Fayemi, while Kogi State Governor, Mr. Yahaya Bello, is Governor of the Year on Youth Empowerment. In announcing the honorees, New Telegraph also revealed that Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Mr Sunday Dare, is winner of Most Innovative Personality of the Year gong while Minister for State for Petroleum, Mr TimipreSylva, willreceivethe MostOutstandingMinisterof the Year award.


Senator Mohammed Sani Musa wins the Most Innovative Senator of the Year award while media guru, Prince Nduka Obaigbena, who is Chairman of Thisday Newspaper and Arise TV, will be conferred with the Media Icon of the Year honour. Most Outstanding House of Assembly Speaker award goes to Speaker Lagos State House of Assembly, Honourable Mudashiru Obasa. Kebbi State First Lady, Dr Zainab Shinkafi Bagudu, wins Female Role Model of the Year award.


The Director General, Forestry Research Institute of Nigeria (FRIN), Prof Adesola Adedoju, is Most Outstanding Public Servant of the  Year awardee. The Public Integrity Award winner is the Managing Director of AMCON, Ahmed Kuru.


President Northern Youth Leaders Forum, Comrade Elliot Afiyo, is Personality of the Year in Youth Empowerment in Agriculture and Education while President, Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents, Hon Iju Tony Nwabunike, will receive the Freight Forwarder of the Year award. Managing Director, Rainoil Limited, Mr Gabriel Ogbechie, wins Downstream Oil and Gas Executive of the year.


Champions of philanthropy, Aliko Dangote Foundation and BUA Foundation, are the recipients of New Telegraph’s Most Outstanding Humanitarian of the Year award. First Bank is named as Bank of the Year, while Access Bank wins Bank of the Year award in International Expansion, Merger & Acquisition. Banker of the Year in SME and Agriculture goes to Managing Director of Heritage Bank, Mr Ifie Sekibo, just as Providus Bank wins Best Banking Product of the Year.


Property outfit, Address Homes, wins Property Company of the Year award. BAT will get Company of the Year in CSR, while the Architecture Company of the year goes to Baron Architecture

Leave a Reply