Nigerian teacher, Opeifa, shortlisted for $1m Global Teacher Prize  

A Nigerian teacher with the Government Day Secondary School, Karu, Abuja, Mr. Olasunkanmi Opeifa, has been shortlisted as one of the 50 finalists for this year’s Global Teacher Prize.

Opeifa is only Nigerian and one of the five from Africa who made the list of top 50 finalists’ from among 12,000 nominations and applications from over 140 countries around the world, who competed for the 2020 Global Teacher Prize, sponsored by the a United Kingdom-based Varkey Foundation.

The Global Teacher Prize, which was initiated by Varkey Foundation in 2014, recognises and celebrates the outstanding impact teachers make around the world.

A Kenyan teacher, Mr. Peter Tabichi and a teacher from the United Kingdom, Andria Zafirakou, won the 2019 and 2018 edition of the Global Teacher Prize held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE) respectively.


New Telegraph learnt that Opeifa, 34, is an alumnus of Lagos State University (LASU), Ojo, who teaches English Language at his current place of work. He has won many awards in the past including the 2018 Maltina-Teacher of the Year Award, which was instituted by Nigeria Breweries Plc for Nigerian teachers.

Opeifa has reputation for innovation and going out of his way to ensure his students receive the best possible tuition. He is often consulted by other staff on the latest 21st Century learning skills, as he uses the flipped classroom model for teaching essay writing, Google Forms or Microsoft Forms for assessment, online videos and e-past questions.

In a letter informing Opeifa of his selection, and signed by the Head of Marketing, Varkey Foundation, Rebecca Warbrick, the organisation said: “We are delighted to inform you that you have been selected from thousands of applications from around the world to be one of our top 50 finalists for the 2020 prize. Congratulations on all your teaching achievements and for putting together such an excellent application.”


According to the foundation, the 50 finalists would still be narrowed down by the selection committee to 10 and result to be announced in June from which the star winner from the number would be unveiled at an award ceremony to be held at the Natural History Museum in the United Kingdom on October 12, 2020.



Related posts

Leave a Reply